translated from Spanish: EU issues travel alert for 16 States of Mexico; Colima tops the list

The U.S. government updated its travel alert for Mexico featuring 16 states in the country for its crime incidence rates. 
Of the 16 entities, the U.S. government asks its citizens not to travel to: Colima, Guerrero, Michoacán, Sinaloa and Tamaulipas. In the case of Tamaulipas, in addition to the criminal impact, the authorities warn of the issue of abductions.
With respect to the remaining 11 states, the US government asks to «reconsider traveling» to: Chihuahua, Coahuila, Durango, Jalisco, State of Mexico, Morelos, Nayarit, Nuevo León, San Luis Potosí, Sonora and Zacatecas.
The only change from this alert to that issued last November is that the state of Chihuahua went from the states to which it is asked not to travel, to the list of those that only have to reconsider the trip.
In a statement, the U.S. government raises that the alert is because these 16 entities increased crime and kidnapping, specifically violent crime, homicide, and vehicle theft.
«The U.S. government has limited capacity to provide emergency services to our citizens in many areas of Mexico,» they warn. 
Additionally, the government asks its employees in our country not to travel between cities after dark, not to take taxis on the street and to travel only in vehicles of services such as Uber or taxi sites.
It also prohibits them from driving from the US border to Mexico, with the exception of day trips within Baja California, between Nogales and Hermosillo on Mexico’s 15D federal highway, and between Nuevo Laredo and Monterrey on Highway 85D.
What we do in Animal Político requires professional journalists, teamwork, dialogue with readers and something very important: independence. You can help us keep going. Be part of the team.
Subscribe to Animal Politician, receive benefits and support free journalism.#YoSoyAnimal

Original source in Spanish

Related Posts

Add Comment