Government bans entry of non-resident foreigners from seven African countries and postpones opening of land crossings

The Undersecretary of Welfare Networks, Alberto Dougnac, reported changes in the “Protected Borders” plan, following the spread of the Omicron variant originating in South Africa.Therefore, from Wednesday, December 1, the entry of non-resident foreigners who have been in the last 14 days in South Africa, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, will be prohibited, Mozambique, Eswatini, Namibia and Botswana.Chileans and resident foreigners who have been in the last 14 days in these countries, must undergo an entry PCR and a seven-day quarantine independent of the result of the examination. It was also decided to postpone the opening of the land crossings, so Chacalluta, Pino Hachado and Colchane, which will remain closed and their situation will be evaluated in two weeks. Foreigners not resident in the country, meanwhile, must continue to perform an entry PCR and quarantine until the negative result, in the case of vaccinated people and those who have a booster dose. Travelers with positive PCR and suspected Omicron variant, meanwhile, must perform their mandatory quarantine in health residences or where the health authority determines it.

Original source in Spanish

Related Posts

Add Comment